RSS

Tag Archives: Yonge Street Toronto

Hotel Victoria on Yonge Street, Toronto

During the “Doors Open Toronto” weekend, I had an opportunity to visit the interior of the Hotel Victoria, located at 56 Yonge Street. As a teenager, I rode past it many times on the old square-shaped Peter Witt streetcars that plied Yonge Street prior to the opening of the subway in 1954. In recent years, I have walked past the hotel’s attractive facade, but had never been inside its doors. The staff that greeted visitors on the “Doors Open” weekend were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

DSCN7172

The hotel was built by Frederick Mossop, who began his career as an hotel clerk. He purchased the property on Yonge Street in 1906. The site possessed a narrow frontage on the street, only 40 feet wide, but with a depth of 112 feet. Mossop hired the architect J. P. Hynes to design a fireproof building, as the disastrous fire of 1904, which destroyed much of Toronto’s financial District, remained fresh in his memory. It required three years to complete the building. Naming the hotel after himself, the eight-storey hotel opened in 1909, containing 48 rooms, completed at a cost of $250,000.

The hotel was constructed on a foundation that extended down to the bedrock, the first foundation of this type built in Toronto. The steel frame of the structure, as well as the elevators, were protected with non-flammable materials. The interior staircases were of iron, with slate steps. All of the windows possessed metal sashes with thick fireproof glass.

The facade of the building, despite being only 40 feet in length, appears wider than it actually is. The unadorned style, with straight lines and small windows help create this illusion. The red-bricks are attractive, the cut stone trim around the windows adding a touch of elegance.  

During the years ahead after it opened in 1909, the hotel prospered. It played a major role in the life of the city when it served as an emergency hospital during the flu pandemic of 1918. However, business dwindled as the years progressed, and it 1927 the hotel closed. It was sold to George and Mathew Elliott. The two brothers renovated the hotel and reopened it as the Hotel Victoria.

During the Second World War, the hotel established the Churchill Club to raise funds for the war effort. During the years following the war, the hotel again began to lose business. In the 1950s and 1960s, profits from the establishment waned to the extent that the hotel became the haunt of cigar-smoking prospectors, Bay Street stockbrokers down on their luck, and a few “ladies of the evening.” Paul Phelan, a real estate developer, rescued the hotel from its fate in 1971. Paying $10,000 for the premises, he assumed all its debts. He then spent over $2 million to renovate the old hotel, and reopened it as a boutique establishment, the type that were becoming popular in New York and London. As a result, during the 1970s and 1980s, the hotel once more became profitable.

In 1984, Phelan sold the hotel to Charles Goldsmith, another real estate developer, for the sum of $2.5 million. Goldsmith invested another $2.5 into the hotel to upgrade it to conform to the new provincial fire regulations and required mechanical systems. He restored the hotel’s original marble walls and pillars, as well as the plaster cornices on the ceilings. The hotel reopened in March of 1986. In 1997, the ownership of the hotel again changed hands. It was purchased by the Silver Hotel Group. In 2011 they renovated the lobby and the guestrooms.

Today, the hotel offers a unique and intimate place to stay, with attractive rooms and a location near the cultural amenities and tourist attractions of the city. Its pleasing facade remains an enduring reminder of Toronto’s past, accommodating clientele in a modern setting.

DSCN7177  DSCN7178

                           Hotel lobby                                             Hotel hallway

DSCN7180

                                          A hotel guestroom

To view the Home Page for this blog: https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/

To view previous posts about movie houses of Toronto—old and new

https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/links-to-toronto-old-movie-housestayloronhistory-com/

To view links to other posts placed on this blog about the history of Toronto and its heritage buildings:

https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/links-to-historic-architecture-of-torontotayloronhistory-com/

Recent publication entitled “Toronto’s Theatres and the Golden Age of the Silver Screen,” by the author of this blog. The publication explores 50 of Toronto’s old theatres and contains over 80 archival photographs of the facades, marquees and interiors of the theatres. It also relates anecdotes and stories from those who experienced these grand old movie houses.  

                           cid_E474E4F9-11FC-42C9-AAAD-1B66D852[1]

                To place an order for this book:

https://www.historypress.net/catalogue/bookstore/books/Toronto-Theatres-and-the-Golden-Age-of-the-Silver-Screen/9781626194502 .

      Theatres Included in the Book

Chapter One – The Early Years—Nickelodeons and the First Theatres in Toronto

Theatorium (Red Mill) Theatre—Toronto’s First Movie Experience and First Permanent Movie Theatre, Auditorium (Avenue, PIckford), Colonial Theatre (the Bay), thePhotodome, Revue Theatre, Picture Palace (Royal George), Big Nickel (National, Rio), Madison Theatre (Midtown, Capri, Eden, Bloor Cinema, Bloor Street Hot Docs), Theatre Without a Name (Pastime, Prince Edward, Fox)

Chapter Two – The Great Movie Palaces – The End of the Nickelodeons

Loew’s Yonge Street (Elgin/Winter Garden), Shea’s Hippodrome, The Allen (Tivoli), Pantages (Imperial, Imperial Six, Ed Mirvish), Loew’s Uptown

Chapter Three – Smaller Theatres in the pre-1920s and 1920s

 Oakwood, Broadway, Carlton on Parliament Street, Victory on Yonge Street (Embassy, Astor, Showcase, Federal, New Yorker, Panasonic), Allan’s Danforth (Century, Titania, Music Hall), Parkdale, Alhambra (Baronet, Eve), St. Clair, Standard (Strand, Victory, Golden Harvest), Palace, Bedford (Park), Hudson (Mount Pleasant), Belsize (Crest, Regent), Runnymede

Chapter Four – Theatres During the 1930s, the Great Depression

Grant ,Hollywood, Oriole (Cinema, International Cinema), Eglinton, Casino, Radio City, Paramount, Scarboro, Paradise (Eve’s Paradise), State (Bloordale), Colony, Bellevue (Lux, Elektra, Lido), Kingsway, Pylon (Royal, Golden Princess), Metro

Chapter Five – Theatres in the 1940s – The Second World War and the Post-War Years

University, Odeon Fairlawn, Vaughan, Odeon Danforth, Glendale, Odeon Hyland, Nortown, Willow, Downtown, Odeon Carlton, Donlands, Biltmore, Odeon Humber, Town Cinema

Chapter Six – The 1950s Theatres

Savoy (Coronet), Westwood

Chapter Seven – Cineplex and Multi-screen Complexes

Cineplex Eaton Centre, Cineplex Odeon Varsity, Scotiabank Cineplex, Dundas Square Cineplex, The Bell Lightbox (TIFF)

 

Tags: ,

Enjoying Toronto’s architectural gems – the Bay at Queen and Yonge Streets

If ever a building qualified as a place where thousands visit each week, but is rarely noticed, the venerable Hudson’s Bay building at Queen and Yonge Streets would perhaps take first prize. It has been an integral part of the downtown core for over a century, and similar to many other of Toronto’s architectural gems, few take notice of its fine lines and superb detailing.

Older residents of the city remember it as the Robert Simpson Department Store, the rival of the T. Eaton Company, in the days when the corner of Yonge and Queen Streets was the commercial heart of the city. In the early decades of the 20th century, there were no malls or box-stores. Few people owned an automobiles, and when shopping for major items, everyone travelled downtown on the old Peter Witt streetcars to shop at one or the other of the two large department stores. For daily needs, the corner store supplied the needs of Toronto’s residents.

DSCN6297 

The Bay at Queen and Yonge Streets formerly the Robert Simpson Company (Simpson’s)

Robert Simpson was born in Inverness, Scotland in 1856. In 1872 he opened a dry goods store on Yonge Street, north of Queen. In 1881, he relocated his shop to the southwest corner of Queen and Yonge Streets. The site at one time had been owned by the rich landowner and tanner, Jesse Ketchum, who willed the land to the Presbyterian Church. Robert Simpson bought most of the church’s property.

In his store at Yonge and Queen, Simpson shocked the residents of staid old Toronto by advertising women’s corsets in his newspaper advertisements. He also hired a female clerk in the women’s department on the second floor. His business prospered to such an extent that he decided to engage in a daring new enterprise, the high-rise department store. He hired the firm of Burke and Harwood to design the building, Edmund Burke accepting the assignment.

There was another reason that Simpson decided to expand. In 1893, the old horse-drawn streetcars on Queen Street were electrified. This created a “rapid transit” line extending into the western and eastern ends of the city. The Yonge Street line had already been electrified three years before, and it was the city’s busiest route. With the newly electrified Queen Street route, it was obvious that the intersection at Queen and Yonge was to be the most advantageous commercial location in Toronto.

In 1894, Robert Simpson opened his magnificent 6-storey department store opened. A brochure published by the company declared, “The opening of the Simpson’s handsome new structure, designed in the fashionable Romanesque style, was an event in 1894.”  However, although it possessed steel columns and beams, less than a year after the opening, it was destroyed by fire.

This did not deter the enterprising merchant. Hiring the same architect, he ordered that another building be created, the new one to reflect the “Chicago Style School. As well, the new structure was to be fire-proof, the first such building in Canada. Columns and beams were encased in concrete, and the floors were constructed of fire-resistant materials. The steel skeleton of the building supported the weight, allowing larger interior spaces than had ever seen before in a Toronto store. Large windows added to the feeling of open space and light. He added a new invention – escalators- and also included baby-sitting services, washrooms, writing rooms, and waiting rooms.

In 1907-1908 he built a nine-story addition on the Queen Street side, to the west of the original building. In 1912 another addition was built on the Yonge Street side, extending the store as far south as Richmond Street. It was now the largest retail store in Canada. In 1923 another addition was added on the Queen Street side. In 1928, all the street facades were unified to create a harmonized appearance.

In 1928-1929, an Art Deco building was added to the complex. It was located at Bay and Richmond Streets. It included the Arcadian Court. The great entrance way to this structure, on its Bay Street side, is just as impressive now as when it was built. The  glass tower at the corner of Bay and Yonge was added in 1971.

The Hudson’s Bay Company bought the store in 1978, and began operating the business under its own name in 1991. It is now under American ownership and management.

DSCN6295  DSCN6286

                       Classical details on The Bay Store

DSCN6300

          The spacious interior of The Bay (Simpson’s)

DSCN6282   DSCN6302

Passageway that today connects The Bay to the Eaton Centre. It was inserted into one of the windows of the old Simpson’s Store.

                           DSCN6309

Magnificent entranceway to the Art Deco addition of 1928-29, located on east side of Bay Street.

f1244_it0494[1] 

People crossing Queen Street between the Simpson’s and Eaton’s Stores in 1913

Series 372, Subseries 58 - Road and street condition photographs

Richmond Street facade of the Simpson’s Store in 1913, with the company’s carts and horses ready to deliver the day’s deliveries. 

The above archival photographs are from the collection of the City of Toronto Archives

DSCN5661

The Bay has retained the old Simpson’s tradition of maintaining the best Christmas windows in the city.

To view the Home Page for this blog: https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/

To view previous posts about movie houses of Toronto—old and new

https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/links-to-toronto-old-movie-housestayloronhistory-com/

To view links to other posts placed on this blog about the history of Toronto and its heritage buildings:

https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/links-to-historic-architecture-of-torontotayloronhistory-com/

Recent publication entitled “Toronto’s Theatres and the Golden Age of the Silver Screen,” by the author of this blog. The publication explores 50 of Toronto’s old theatres and contains over 80 archival photographs of the facades, marquees and interiors of the theatres. It also relates anecdotes and stories from those who experienced these grand old movie houses.  

                           cid_E474E4F9-11FC-42C9-AAAD-1B66D852

                To place an order for this book:

https://www.historypress.net/catalogue/bookstore/books/Toronto-Theatres-and-the-Golden-Age-of-the-Silver-Screen/9781626194502 .

      Theatres Included in the Book

Chapter One – The Early Years—Nickelodeons and the First Theatres in Toronto

Theatorium (Red Mill) Theatre—Toronto’s First Movie Experience and First Permanent Movie Theatre, Auditorium (Avenue, PIckford), Colonial Theatre (the Bay), thePhotodome, Revue Theatre, Picture Palace (Royal George), Big Nickel (National, Rio), Madison Theatre (Midtown, Capri, Eden, Bloor Cinema, Bloor Street Hot Docs), Theatre Without a Name (Pastime, Prince Edward, Fox)

Chapter Two – The Great Movie Palaces – The End of the Nickelodeons

Loew’s Yonge Street (Elgin/Winter Garden), Shea’s Hippodrome, The Allen (Tivoli), Pantages (Imperial, Imperial Six, Ed Mirvish), Loew’s Uptown

Chapter Three – Smaller Theatres in the pre-1920s and 1920s

 Oakwood, Broadway, Carlton on Parliament Street, Victory on Yonge Street (Embassy, Astor, Showcase, Federal, New Yorker, Panasonic), Allan’s Danforth (Century, Titania, Music Hall), Parkdale, Alhambra (Baronet, Eve), St. Clair, Standard (Strand, Victory, Golden Harvest), Palace, Bedford (Park), Hudson (Mount Pleasant), Belsize (Crest, Regent), Runnymede

Chapter Four – Theatres During the 1930s, the Great Depression

Grant ,Hollywood, Oriole (Cinema, International Cinema), Eglinton, Casino, Radio City, Paramount, Scarboro, Paradise (Eve’s Paradise), State (Bloordale), Colony, Bellevue (Lux, Elektra, Lido), Kingsway, Pylon (Royal, Golden Princess), Metro

Chapter Five – Theatres in the 1940s – The Second World War and the Post-War Years

University, Odeon Fairlawn, Vaughan, Odeon Danforth, Glendale, Odeon Hyland, Nortown, Willow, Downtown, Odeon Carlton, Donlands, Biltmore, Odeon Humber, Town Cinema

Chapter Six – The 1950s Theatres

Savoy (Coronet), Westwood

Chapter Seven – Cineplex and Multi-screen Complexes

Cineplex Eaton Centre, Cineplex Odeon Varsity, Scotiabank Cineplex, Dundas Square Cineplex, The Bell Lightbox (TIFF)

 

Tags: ,