Toronto’s architectural gems–houses on Camden Street


                         Three of the remaining houses on Camden Street, number 7-9, and 11

Camden Street is one block south of Richmond Street, extending west from Spadina Avenue. Camden  Street was created between the years 1854 and 1855. The city directory also reveals that there were no homes on the street prior to 1855. The semi-detached houses in the above photo, numbers 7-11, are three homes that remain from the days when Camden Street was completely residential. There were homes on the site prior to their construction, built in the 1870’s. but these were demolished in 1900 to build the imposing structures that are on the site today. The Toronto directory reveals that in 1900, there were four unfinished houses on the site. Three of them survive today. The house that with the postal address #15, was demolished and is now part of a parking lot

In 1901, Mrs. Sarah Beaumont lived at 9 Camden Street, and Mr. John Welch resided at 11 Camden.

Today, at 7 Camden is the Open Kitchen Restaurant. It serves excellent food, at a reasonable prices, and is very popular with office workers in the area. Its home-made soups are particularly good, as are the corned beef sandwiches. Several years ago, the food critic for the Toronto Star rated the beef ribs at the restaurant as the finest in the city.


       The Open Kitchen Restaurant at #7 Camden Street.


The houses at 7-11 Camden Street, and the parking lot where #13 was located. Additions have been added to the rear of the buildings.


       The doorways of numbers 9 and 11 Camden Street.



The entrance to Camden Street from Spadina in 1921. The large warehouse building on the left is the Darling Building, which remains on the site today.

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about Toronto’s past and its historic buildings:

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Toronto’s Old City Hall at Bay and Queen Streets

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *