Lament for the demise of the Nicolas Hoare Book Store


I recently placed a post on this blog about the “Nicolas Hoare Book Store” at 45 Front Street, because this Toronto gem will disappear from the Toronto scene on Monday, April 1, 2013. It has a wonderful place to to browse for books, in an intimate space with a friendly and knowledgeable staff. It will be sorely missed.

In this morning’s Toronto Star (March 29), in the GTA section, there is an excellent article about the sore, written by Joe Fiorito. He laments the loss of the independent book stores in our city, mentioning similar stores that have closed within the last few years—Pages on Queen Street West and Britnell’s on Yonge Street.

The article also mentions the Ben McNally book store at 366 Bay Street, a few doors south of Richmond Street. It is a book store that has survived and worthwhile visiting to purchase books in an atmosphere that is reminiscent of the book shops of yesteryears. 

To see the previous post about the “Nicolas Hoare Book Shop,” follow the link :


                      The Nicolas Hoare Book Shop on Front Street

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about Toronto’s past and its historic buildings:

The historically amazing intersection of King and Simcoe Streets.

The historic 1885 bank building at Yonge and Front Streets

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Toronto’s Old City Hall at Bay and Queen Streets

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *