Below are links to posts about Toronto’s heritage sites that have appeared on the blog, tayloronhistory.com, since it commenced in 2011.
Toronto’s Maple Leaf Baseball Stadium
Brunswick House on Bloor Street West, now closed
Centre Island’s lost village
Demolition of the Westinghouse building on King Street West
Walker House Hotel at Front and York Streets, demolished 1976
Cyclorama on Front Street, demolished 1976
The Toronto Star Building on King Street West
Fond Memories of A&A Records on Yonge Street
Memories of Sam the Record Man on Yonge Street
Toronto’s old Land Registry Building (demolished)
The Gordon House on Clarence Square, one of Toronto’s lost mansions
Old Toronto Star Building on King Street West.
The Grand Opera House on Adelaide St. West
The High Park Mineral Baths
The old Dufferin Gates at the CNE
Toronto’s first brick house, built by Quetton St. George
Toronto’s Old Registry Office Building
Centre Island’s Lost Village
Arcadian Court Restaurant in Simpsons
Toronto’s Old Customs Houses
Grand Opera House on Adelaide St. West
Palace Pier Ballroom and Amusement Centre on Lakeshore, on West bank of the Humber River
Cawthra House—Toronto’s most historic mansion at Bay and King Streets (demolished)
Ford Hotel at Bay and Dundas (demolished)
Dufferin Gates of the CNE (demolished)
Quetton St. George’s mansion on King Street, now demolished
Mineral Baths (swimming pools) on Bloor Street opposite High Park
Upper Canada College’s first campus on Russell Square on King Street West
Upper Canada College’s former boarding house at Duncan and Adelaide Street
St. Patrick’s Market on Queen West – the first market buildings
Armouries on University Avenue (demolished)
Trinity College that once existed in Trinity Bellwoods Park
Hanlan’s Hotel on the Toronto Islands (Hanlan’s Point) now demolished
The Palace, the mansion of John Strachan (demolished)
Holland House—one of Toronto’s lost mansions (demolished)
Crystal Palace of the CNE (demolished) —now the site of the Muzik nightclub
Queen’s Hotel (demolished) —historic hotel on Front Street
CNE Grandstand (demolished) —History of
Maple Leaf Stadium (demolished) at Bathurst and Front Streets
Eaton’s old Queen Street Store at Queen and Yonge Streets (demolished)
Bank –Toronto’s First—Bank of Upper Canada (demolished)
Post Office—Toronto’s First
Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) on Dundas Street.
Ontario’s Fourth Legislative Assembly
Ontario’s First and Second Legislative Buildings
Old Mill Restaurant in the Humber Valley
Montgomery’s Inn at Dundas West and Islington Avenue
Cecil Street Community Centre near Spadina Avenue and Cecil Street
Former Ryerson Press Building (now Bell Media) at 299 Queen Street, at Queen and John Streets
Former Bank of Toronto Building at 205 Yonge Street, opposite the Eaton Centre
Buildings at 441-443 Queen Street, west of Spadina Avenue
History of the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM)
Boer War monument at Queen West and University Avenue
History of Toronto’s CN Tower
Gurney Stove Foundry at King West and Brant Streets
Historic Royal Alexandra Theatre on King Street
Former Bank of Montreal at Queen and Yonge Streets, now a subway entrance and coffee shop
Fairmont Royal York Hotel
Toronto’s Union Station of today that opened in 1927
Old Fort York
19th-century Bay and Gable house at 64 Spadina Avenue
Old houses hidden behind 58-60 Spadina Avenue
Historic Gale Building at 24-30 Spadina Avenue
Commercial block at 654-672 Queen West containing shops
Warehouse loft at 80 Spadina Avenue
The Systems Building at 40-46 Spadina Avenue
The Steele Briggs Warehouse at 49 Spadina Avenue
The building at Queen and Portland Streets, which once was a bank of Montreal
The 1850s buildings at 150-154 King Street East and Jarvis Streets
The Manufacturers Building at 312 Adelaide St. West
The old Eaton’s College Street (College Park and the Carlu)
The John Kay (Wood Gundy) Building at 11 Adelaide St. West
The Grange (AGO)
The Eclipse Building at 322 King Street West
The Toronto Normal School on Gould Street
The Capitol Building at 366 Adelaide Street West, near Spadina
The Reid Building at 266-270 King Street West
Mackenzie House on Bond Street
Colborne Lodge in High Park
The Church of the Redeemer at Bloor West and Avenue Road
The Anderson Building at 284 King Street West
The Lumsden Building at Yonge and Adelaide Street East
The Gooderham (Flatiron) Building at Wellington and Front Streets East
The Sick Children’s Hospital on University Avenue
St. James Cathedral at King St. East and Church St.
The E.W. Gillett Building at 276 Queen King St. West
The Oddfellows Temple at the corner of Yonge and College Streets
The Birkbeck Building at 8-18 Adelaide Street East
The Toronto Seventh Post Office at 10 Toronto St.
Former hotel at Bay and Elm streets
The 1881 block of shops on Queen near Spadina
The stone archway on Yonge Street, south of Carlton Street
The former St. Patrick’s Market on Queen West, now the City Market
The Brooke Building (three shops) at King East and Jarvis streets.
The old Work House at 87 Elm Street, an historic structure from the 19th century.
The building on the northwest corner of Yonge and Queen Street.
The former student residence of Upper Canada College, built in 1833, at 22 Duncan Street, at the corner of Adelaide streets.
Church of the Holy Trinity beside the Eaton Centre
The former site of the “Silver Snail” comic store at 367 Queen Street West.
The Toronto Club at 107 Wellington, built 1888, at the corner of York Street.
The YMCA at 18 Elm Street, built in 1890, now the Elmwood Club.
The old St. George’s Hall at 14 Elm Street, now the Arts and Letters Club.
The 1860s houses on Elm St. (now Barbarian’s Steak House)
The old “Silver Snail” shop on Queen St. West
The north building at the St. Lawrence Market, which is slated to be demolished
The Ellis Building on Adelaide Street near Spadina Ave.
The Heintzman Building on Yonge Street, next to the Elgin Theatre
The tall narrow building at 242 Yonge Street, south of Dundas
Toronto’s first Reference Library at College and St. George Streets.
The Commodore Building at 315-317 Adelaide St. West
The Graphic Arts Building (condo) on Richmond Street
The Art Deco Victory Building on Richmond Street
The Concourse Building on Adelaide Street
The old Bank of Commerce at 197 Yonge Street
The Traders Bank on Yonge Street—the city’s second skyscraper
Toronto’s old Union Station on Front Street, built in 1884
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church at King and Simcoe Streets.
The row houses on Glasgow Street, near Spadina and College Streets
The bank at Queen and Simcoe that resembles a Greek temple
The cenotaph at Toronto’s Old City Hall
The magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral at King East and Church Streets
St. Stanislaus Koska RC Church on Denison Avenue, north of Queen West
The historical St. Mary’s Church at Adelaide and Bathurst Streets
The Bishop’s (St, Michael’s) Palace on Church Street, Toronto
The Union Building at Simcoe and King Street West
The Ed Mirvish (Pantages, Imperial, Canon) Theatre, a true architectural gem on Toronto’s Yonge Street
The Waverly Hotel on Spadina near College Street.
The Art Deco Bank of Commerce building on King Street West.
The Postal Delivery Building, now the Air Canada Centre (ACC)
The Bellevue Fire Station on College Street
The Bank of Nova Scotia at King and Bay Streets
Toronto’s old Sunnyside Beach
Toronto’s architectural gems—the Runnymede Library
Spadina Avenue – sinful, spicy and diverse
The Reading Building, a warehouse loft building on Spadina Avenue
The Darling Building on Spadina Avenue
The amazing Fashion Building on Spadina Avenue
Toronto’s architectural gems – the Tower Building at Spadina and Adelaide Street
The Balfour Building at 119 Spadina Avenue
The Robertson Building at 215 Spadina that houses the Dark Horse Espresso Bar
An architectural gem – Grossman’s Tavern at Spadina and Cecil Streets
History of the house that contains the Paul Magder Fur Shop at 202 Spadina
An important historic building that disappeared from the northeast corner of Spadina and College
Historic bank building on northeast corner of Spadina and Queen West
History of the Backpackers’ Hotel at King and Spadina
Hamburger corner – Spadina and Queen Streets
Lord Lansdowne Public School on Spadina Crescent
The Dragon City Mall on the southwest corner of Dundas and Spadina
Buildings on the west side of Spadina a short distance north of Queen Street.
History of the site of the Mcdonalds on northwest corner of Queen and Spadina
A former mansion at 235 Spadina that is now almost hidden from view.
Military hero of the War of 1812 lived near corner of Spadina Avenue and Queen Street West.
The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.
Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977
The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street
The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.
Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue
A study of Osgoode Hall
Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market
Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century
The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822
History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West, near York Street
Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s
The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.
122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949
Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District
Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue
The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park
Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912
Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912
Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina
Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977
The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street
Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades
History of Trinity Bellwoods Park
A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands
To view the Home Page for this blog: https://tayloronhistory.wordpress.com/
To view the post that contains a list of Toronto’s old movie houses and information about them: