Kensington Market—Seven Seas Fish Market—gone!


When this small Kensington market scene was painted in 2002, there were four thriving fish markets on Baldwin Street. Although a new one opened in 2012, there remain only three seafood shops, as another one has now closed.  The Seven Seas Fish Market has moved in with the Coral Sea Market. The Coral Sea and the Seven Seas Fish Markets were housed within a pair of old house, numbers 198 and 196 Baldwin Street. The second storey of the left-hand house (198 Baldwin St.) is visible in the painting above. It was the home of Abraham Prussky, who resided in the dwelling until Max Katz purchased it. Mr. Katz and added a store front in 1929 and relocated his grocery store to the building after he was forced to  move from the larger premises on the northeast corner of Baldwin and Augusta. He remained at 198 Baldwin Street until 1935, when he relocated once more to a location across the street at 195 Baldwin Street. This site was the location of the New Seaway Fish Market, which ceased operation this year (2013).

I wish the combined fish markets every success.  


The two markets at 196 and 198 Baldwin Street on May 1st, 2013.

DSCN1149   DSCN1150

Signage in the window (left photo) of the Seven Seas Fish Market, and the sign on the roof of the market (right) 


          The sign on the door of the shop, in May of 2013


               The Seven Seas Market, now closed.

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about Toronto’s Kensington Market

Casa Acoreana and other gems on a summer day in the Kensington Market

Kensington’s Casa Acoreana soon the close !

To view other posts about Toronto’s past and its historic buildings:

Toronto’s first cemetery and monument to those who served in the War of 1812

Toronto’s historic cathedral spires

Toronto’s vanishing 19th-century store fronts.

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *