Toronto’s architectural gems—St. Stanislaus Koska RC Church at 12 Denison Avenue


The building that today is St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church was built between the years 1879 and 1880, and was consecrated as the West Presbyterian Church.  It is located on Denison Avenue, one block north of Queen Street West. The architects were Gordon and Helliwell, and they constructed the church in the Gothic Revival style. The yellow-brick structure possesses  a spire on its north side, which overlooks Denison Avenue. In 1911, it was purchased by a generous benefactor and given to the Polish Community as a place of worship. In 1937, the Felician Sisters from Buffalo arrived to assist the parish in its work. Today, the Felician Sisters continue to serve the people of the community from a large house at 25 Augusta Avenue, one block east of the church. 


     The spire on St. Stanislaus Koska Church on Denison Avenue.


                   The east facade od the church on Denison Avenue.


In the interior of the church, the pews are arranged in a semi-circle around the altar, which is on the west side of the sanctuary. The pillars evident in the photo support a second-floor gallery that is horseshoe shaped.


In the photo, on the left-hand side can be seen the gallery on the second floor.


The gold and white altar is indeed impressive. The ceiling of the sanctuary is ribbed in the early-Gothic traditional style. In 1969, Cardinal Karol Wojtyla was a guest at the church. He was later to become Pope John Paul II.


The facade of St. Stanislaus Koska Church on a quiet Sunday morning in summer.

f1244_it3071[1]  Dr. Cook's house 1912   DSCN8855

House where the Felician Sisters perform their charitable mission. The left-hand photo was taken around 1912, when the house was a private residence. The other photograph was taken in March of 2013Historic photo is from The City of Toronto Archives.

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about the history of Toronto and its buildings:

The Bishop’s (St, Michael’s) Palace on Church Street, Toronto

The Ed Mirvish (Pantages, Imperial, Canon) Theatre, a true architectural gem on Toronto’s Yonge Street

The Waverly Hotel on Spadina near College Street.

The Art Deco Bank of Commerce building on King Street West.

The Postal Delivery Building, now the Air Canada Centre (ACC)

The Bellevue Fire Station on College Street

The Bank of Nova Scotia at King and Bay Streets

Toronto’s old Sunnyside Beach

Toronto’s architectural gems—the Runnymede Library

Spadina Avenue – sinful, spicy and diverse

The Reading Building, a warehouse loft on Spadina Avenue

The Darling Building on Spadina Avenue

The amazing Fashion Building on Spadina Avenue

Toronto’s architectural gems – the Tower Building at Spadina and Adelaide Street

The Balfour Building at 119 Spadina Avenue

The Robertson Building at 215 Spadina that houses the Dark Horse Espresso Bar

An architectural gem – Grossman’s Tavern at Spadina and Cecil Streets

History of the house that contains the Paul Magder Fur Shop at 202 Spadina

An important historic building that disappeared from the northeast corner of Spadina and College

Historic bank building on northeast corner of Spadina and Queen West

History of the Backpackers’ Hotel at King and Spadina

Hamburger corner – Spadina and Queen Streets

Lord Lansdowne Public School on Spadina Crescent

The Victory Burlesque Theatre at Dundas and Spadina

The Dragon City Mall on the southwest corner of Dundas and Spadina

Buildings on the west side of Spadina a short distance north of Queen Street.

History of the site of the Mcdonalds on northwest corner of Queen and Spadina

A former mansion at 235 Spadina that is now almost hidden from view.


Military hero of the War of 1812 lived near corner of Spadina and Queen West.

To view other posts about Toronto’s past and its historic buildings:

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Toronto’s Old City Hall at Bay and Queen Streets

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *