Toronto’s architectural gems—St. George’s Church on Bond Street


St. George’s Orthodox Church at 115 Bond Street is one of the most beautiful places of worship in Toronto. It is an historic building that has been faithfully maintained to preserve its rich architectural heritage while accommodating a modern church community. I have rarely seen a structure anywhere in the world that has received more loving care than this building.

It was built in 1895 to serve as the second synagogue for Toronto’s first Jewish Community, and named Holy Blossom Temple. Its architect was Benjamin Siddall, who attempted to reflect the Middle-Eastern heritage of the Jewish congregations of the late 19th century and early twentieth century. The Kiever Synagogue in the Kensington Market is similar in design. The Bond Street structure has a Romanesque facade with tall narrow windows, topped by Roman arches. When it was a synagogue, the large domes on the north and south sides at the front of the building were onion shaped. They were changed when the Greek Orthodox purchased the building in 1938. The domes were rounded  in shape to appear more Christian in character.  The tympanum (the decorative half-circle space over the entrance) has a mosaic of St. George and the dragon. When the building was a synagogue, Hebraic letter occupied this space. Surrounding the top of the tympanum is a Roman arch. Though not seen in the above photo, there is a large dome on the roof of the building, in a central position, which dominates the interior of the church. 


St. George’s Orthodox Church when it was a synagogue. The domes on the north and south sides of the building are onion-shaped in this photo. Picture is from Eric Arthur’s book, “Toronto No Mean City.”


The mosaic of St. George and the dragon in the tympanum located above the entrance to St. George’s Greek Orthodox Church.


                          Interior view of the entranceway of the church


                      The sanctuary of the church with its sacred paintings


                         Paintings on the north wall of the sanctuary


                    The great dome that dominates the interior of the church


To visit this church, either to worship or to admire its beauty, is indeed a privilege. During the “Toronto Doors Open” held each year in May, it is a highly recommended place to visit.

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about the history of Toronto and its buildings:

The old Bank of Commerce at 197 Yonge Street

The Traders Bank on Yonge Street—the city’s second skyscraper

Toronto’s old Union Station on Front Street, built in 1884

St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church at King and Simcoe Streets.

The row houses on Glasgow Street, near Spadina and College Streets

The bank at Queen and Simcoe that resembles a Greek temple

The cenotaph at Toronto’s Old City Hall

The magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral at King East and Church Streets

St. Stanislaus Koska RC Church on Denison Avenue, north of Queen West

The historical St. Mary’s Church at Adelaide and Bathurst Streets

The Bishop’s (St, Michael’s) Palace on Church Street, Toronto

The Union Building at Simcoe and King Street West

The Ed Mirvish (Pantages, Imperial, Canon) Theatre, a true architectural gem on Toronto’s Yonge Street

The Waverly Hotel on Spadina near College Street.

The Art Deco Bank of Commerce building on King Street West.

The Postal Delivery Building, now the Air Canada Centre (ACC)

The Bellevue Fire Station on College Street

The Bank of Nova Scotia at King and Bay Streets

Toronto’s old Sunnyside Beach

Toronto’s architectural gems—the Runnymede Library

Spadina Avenue – sinful, spicy and diverse

The Reading Building, a warehouse loft on Spadina Avenue

The Darling Building on Spadina Avenue

The amazing Fashion Building on Spadina Avenue

Toronto’s architectural gems – the Tower Building at Spadina and Adelaide Street

The Balfour Building at 119 Spadina Avenue

The Robertson Building at 215 Spadina that houses the Dark Horse Espresso Bar

An architectural gem – Grossman’s Tavern at Spadina and Cecil Streets

History of the house that contains the Paul Magder Fur Shop at 202 Spadina

An important historic building that disappeared from the northeast corner of Spadina and College

Historic bank building on northeast corner of Spadina and Queen West

History of the Backpackers’ Hotel at King and Spadina

Hamburger corner – Spadina and Queen Streets

Lord Lansdowne Public School on Spadina Crescent

The Victory Burlesque Theatre at Dundas and Spadina

The Dragon City Mall on the southwest corner of Dundas and Spadina

Buildings on the west side of Spadina a short distance north of Queen Street.

History of the site of the Mcdonalds on northwest corner of Queen and Spadina

A former mansion at 235 Spadina that is now almost hidden from view.


Military hero of the War of 1812 lived near corner of Spadina and Queen West.

To view other posts about Toronto’s past and its historic buildings:

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *