Toronto’s architectural gems—the Toronto Club at Wellington and York


The impressive building at 107 Wellington Street, on the southeast corner of York and Wellington streets, remains a mystery to me. Other than the information posted on Wikipedia and an historic plaque, I have been unable to locate any other information. My usual sources do not mention the club, even though it apparently dates back to the early years of Toronto. The plaque states that the club was founded in 1837, the same year that William Lyon Mackenzie led the rebels down Yonge Street. However, it does not reveal who founded the club or where its first site was located. The building in the above picture is of the building that was constructed for the club in 1888.

It appears that the club was established as a private establishment for prominent CEO’s and professionals, where its members could to gather to read and discuss various topics. The building contains  a reading, dining and billiard room. It has marble fireplaces, rich wood panelling, and ornamented plaster ceilings. The plaque states that the structure was constructed in various architectural styles, with the second floor being Renaissance Revival, containing faux balconies in front of the windows. However, it is the enormous stones of the base of the building and the heavy fortress-like first floor that dominate the street. Similar to Toronto’s old City Hall, the first floor is Richardsonian Romanesque. It has large windows with Roman arches, the ornamented pilasters, and detailing typical of this architectural style. The ornamentation under the cornice is highly detailed, and the heavy doors are impressive.

The architects of the building were Frank Darling and S. George Curry. These partners also designed the Bank of Montreal at Front and Yonge Street (now the Hockey hall of Fame) and the old Sick Children’s Hospital at 67 College Street. 


           The south facade of the Toronto Club, facing Wellington Street.

DSCN7789   DSCN7790

            The doors of the club, and the face carved into them.


Ornamentation above the doorway, showing the year the building was opened (1888).

DSCN7788  DSCN7787

Window on the first floor, and the stone ornaments at the base of one of the pilasters.


             The Wellington Street facade as viewed from the street.

DSCN9182  DSCN0511

Two other buildings designed by the architects Darling and Curry. The left-hand photo is the old Bank of Montreal at Front and Yonge streets, now the Hockey Hall of Fame. The right-hand photo is the Sick Kids’ Hospital (Victoria Hospital) at 67 College Street, which is now occupied by the Canadian Blood Services.

To view the Home Page for this blog:

To view other posts about the history of Toronto and its buildings:

The old “Silver Snail” shop at 367 Queen St. West

The 1860s Georgian-style houses at 7-9 Elm Street, now the site of Barberian’s Steak House

Hughes Terrace, a row of four building on King Street West, across from TIFF

The Runnymede Theatre that is now a book store in the Bloor West Village.

The building on the northwest corner of Dundas and Yonge that was once a bank

The Ellis Building on Adelaide Street near Spadina Ave.

The Heintzman Building on Yonge Street, next to the Elgin Theatre

The tall narrow building at 242 Yonge Street, south of Dundas

Toronto’s first Reference Library at College and St. George Streets.

The Commodore Building at 315-317 Adelaide St. West

The Graphic Arts Building (condo) on Richmond Street

The Art Deco Victory Building on Richmond Street

The Concourse Building on Adelaide Street

The old Bank of Commerce at 197 Yonge Street

The Traders Bank on Yonge Street—the city’s second skyscraper

Toronto’s old Union Station on Front Street, built in 1884

St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church at King and Simcoe Streets.

The row houses on Glasgow Street, near Spadina and College Streets

The bank at Queen and Simcoe that resembles a Greek temple

The cenotaph at Toronto’s Old City Hall

The magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral at King East and Church Streets

St. Stanislaus Koska RC Church on Denison Avenue, north of Queen West

The historical St. Mary’s Church at Adelaide and Bathurst Streets

The Bishop’s (St, Michael’s) Palace on Church Street, Toronto

The Union Building at Simcoe and King Street West

The Ed Mirvish (Pantages, Imperial, Canon) Theatre, a true architectural gem on Toronto’s Yonge Street

The Waverly Hotel on Spadina near College Street.

The Art Deco Bank of Commerce building on King Street West.

The Postal Delivery Building, now the Air Canada Centre (ACC)

The Bellevue Fire Station on College Street

The Bank of Nova Scotia at King and Bay Streets

Toronto’s old Sunnyside Beach

Toronto’s architectural gems—the Runnymede Library

Spadina Avenue – sinful, spicy and diverse

The Reading Building, a warehouse loft on Spadina Avenue

The Darling Building on Spadina Avenue

The amazing Fashion Building on Spadina Avenue

Toronto’s architectural gems – the Tower Building at Spadina and Adelaide Street

The Balfour Building at 119 Spadina Avenue

The Robertson Building at 215 Spadina that houses the Dark Horse Espresso Bar

An architectural gem – Grossman’s Tavern at Spadina and Cecil Streets

History of the house that contains the Paul Magder Fur Shop at 202 Spadina

An important historic building that disappeared from the northeast corner of Spadina and College

Historic bank building on northeast corner of Spadina and Queen West

History of the Backpackers’ Hotel at King and Spadina

Hamburger corner – Spadina and Queen Streets

Lord Lansdowne Public School on Spadina Crescent

The Victory Burlesque Theatre at Dundas and Spadina

The Dragon City Mall on the southwest corner of Dundas and Spadina

Buildings on the west side of Spadina a short distance north of Queen Street.

History of the site of the Mcdonalds on northwest corner of Queen and Spadina

A former mansion at 235 Spadina that is now almost hidden from view.


Military hero of the War of 1812 lived near corner of Spadina and Queen West.

The Art Deco bus terminal at Bay and Dundas Streets.

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The old Dominion Bank Building at King and Yonge Street

The Canada Life Building on University and Queen Street West.

Campbell House at the corner of Queen Street West and University Avenue

A study of Osgoode Hall

Toronto’s first City Hall, now a part of the St. Lawrence Market

Toronto’s Draper Street, a time-tunnel into the 19th century

The Black Bull Tavern at Queen and Soho Streets, established in 1822

History of the 1867 fence around Osgoode Hall on Queen Street West at York Street

Gathering around the radio as a child in the 1940s

The opening of the University Theatre on Bloor Street, west of Bay St.

122 persons perish in the Noronic Disaster on Toronto’s waterfront in 1949

Historic Victoria Memorial Square where Toronto’s first cemetery was located, now hidden amid the Entertainment District

Visiting one of Toronto’s best preserved 19th-century streets-Willcocks Avenue

The 1930s Water Maintenance Building on Brant Street, north of St. Andrew’s Park

Toronto’s architectural gems-photos of the Old City from a book published by the city in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems in 1912

Toronto’s architectural gems – the bank on the northeast corner of Queen West and Spadina

Photos of the surroundings of the CN Tower and and the St. Lawrence Market in 1977

The St. Lawrence Hall on King Street

Toronto’s streetcars through the past decades

History of Trinity Bellwoods Park

A history of Toronto’s famous ferry boats to the Toronto Islands

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *